Home > Uncategorized > Business Models for Small Satellite Missions

Business Models for Small Satellite Missions

Today was my first presentation to the European space community. I presented at the European Space Agency’s (ESA) “Small Satellites Tech, Business & Regulatory Industry Workshop” at the ESTEC facility in Noordwijk, Netherlands. What I tried to get across during my presentation is that there are a variety of business models that can be created at each stage of what I call the value chain for small satellite companies, which are:

  1. Research & Development
  2. Design & Manufacturing
  3. Launch Partners & Regulatory
  4. Mission Operations & Ground Stations
  5. Data Processing & Pipeline
  6. Product Release & Availability
  7. Analysis & Integration

You can see my presentation at:
http://www.slideshare.net/BrianGroth/business-models-for-small-satellite-missions-2017

If you’re wondering; this relates to my role as Director of Partner Programs at Planet, because there are partnership opportunities in the small satellite industry at each stage of the value chain. I currently focus on partners in stages 6 and 7 in my list of stages of the value chain.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

