Home > Uncategorized > The Latest Adventure: Kayak Surfing

The Latest Adventure: Kayak Surfing

BrianPunchThroughWave02This weekend, my friend Paul and I camped at Hobuck Beach (far NW corner of WA, state) to do some kayak surfing, which was a new experience for me. After 30 seconds of Paul explaining which direction to aim the kayak when going sideways with a wave (to not get rolled over) and how to hold my paddle when hitting waves (to keep from knocking my teeth in), I was ready to go.

After the first paddle out and through the waves, I was hooked.

After riding the waves, I understood Paul’s description of this being “scary-ass fun”.

After about 3 runs/rides, I was exhausted! The next day I learned how to pace myself, but the adrenaline rush, the power-paddling, and the concentration required is pretty intense.

My favorite part is paddling out into the waves and cresting over a big wave so the kayak slaps down on the back side. I caught myself saying “I love this!” a few times as my kayak was pointing down the backside of a wave and slapping the water. This is especially fun if you don’t hit the water until after your butt is in the air, which means you almost catch some air, or at least that’s what it feels like.

Riding the waves back towards the beach is pretty intense too, but a bit scarier because you’ll most likely get flipped over by the wave. The most intense is when you’re riding a wave pointing straight at the beach so you’re perpendicular to the wave when the nose of the kayak gets pushed under the water while your butt is near the top of the wave. This worked out fine (and fun) the first time, but the second time I was getting rolled before I knew what was happening.

After a day of this and finding some food in a nearby town (Neah Bay is “dry” and no restaurants that are safe to eat at according to locals), we opted for a little easy-going hike out to Cape Flattery to see the remainder of the sunset. As we were a ways down the trail, a woman walking up the trail told us that there are signs posted about a cougar sighting on July. We didn’t linger long since a cougar can take down a moose, they hunt at dusk, and there were no other hikers left on the trail (to be eaten instead of us). We hiked uphill fast enough to burn off the fries that came with dinner!

A full set of photos are at SkyDrive.

  1. Gail
    September 13, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Wow, that does look like fun. How many times did you get dumped? Were you wearing a wet suit? Dad

  2. September 13, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I probably got dumped about 6 times over the weekend. My wetsuit is a lightweight farmer john style, which was almost warm enough. I’m glad the weather was warm, since the water certainly wasn’t.

  3. Taylor
    September 16, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    That sounds really FUN!!!!!:):P:D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

