Home > Uncategorized > I can fly

I can fly

Brian skydiving (or flying) in an air tunnel at AirKix in England

This was a very cool birthday gift that involved me putting on a jump suit and getting into a huge wind turbine and learning to freefall for two minutes, twice. I was home yesterday with a bad head cold, so I was concerned I would miss it (been planning it for a while), but I wasn’t dead this morning, so I went for it. Lorie and I took the train to AirKix in Milton Keys (north of London). Lorie attempted to take pictures through the scratched up plexiglass, but the photo here is one we paid for that the AirKix people took. For some reason, Lorie had no interest in flying with me.

My first flight was a little shaky as I tried to figure out how to hold my arms, hands, head, and legs. I had no problem relaxing and letting my body arc, but figuring out what to do with my legs was the weird part – how much should you bend your knees when free falling anyway?

My second flight was quite a bit more fun though. I was able to hold myself in position so I could then raise and lower myself or spin circles. You only have to make very minor adjustments to move around like this.

This is the perfect training for skydiving, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever do that. Being in the wind tunnel and just screwing off is fun enough and has no real risk to it.

  1. Keith
    March 25, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    That is too cool. Every time I see wind tunnel flying on TV, I wonder how it would feel. Nice job Brian!Keith

  2. ShiSh
    March 25, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    awesome

  3. Anne
    March 25, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Glad you had fun Brian!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

